Uncategorized

The American Dream is a Segregated Nightmare

Short Story Long

Hate won last night. Hate won after a long, gruelling campaign.

And no, when I say “hate”, I don’t mean Trump.

But if that’s what you think I mean when I say “hate”, then hate is still winning.

I want to preface this by claiming that I am Canadian, not American. And as a Canadian, I watched the American election so much more closely than I did the Canadian election last year. I was so determined to stay awake and watch until the end…but I fell asleep and woke up to learn Donald Trump is president-elect with a majority house and senate.

It took me a long time to decide how I was going to approach this. I considered talking about the flaws of democracy and the American electoral college, but I know nothing about political science. I thought about condemning people who didn’t vote or voted third party, but…

View original post 698 more words

Leave a Reply

