Short story

God bless you

I was weak and trembling. I was delirious. I didn’t know how long it would take me to reach home. I was conscious but not strong enough. My vision was hazy, I kept feeling dizzy. Nonetheless, something got into me.

I crept inside the temple. There was nobody else around. I sat down. “May he be successful”, I kept muttering for five minutes. Nothing else struck me then. I asked nothing for myself. His success mattered more than my recovery to me. May God bless him, was the only thought on my mind.

After what seemed ages, I left the holy place. I walked homewards. I was delirious as before; but I don’t know why I felt as light as a feather. I knew God would bless him now; that’s what really mattered to me. It’ll all be okay. Okay?

Leave a Reply

