Feelings from the heart

Parents and attachments

Dearest Mumma and Papa,
Twenty one days away from home, in a residential school. Unbelievable! I don’t know how to explain how much I miss you. I’ve been so close to you for 17 and a half years that I seemed to be oblivious to the word ‘distance’. Now, as the meaning sinks in, I realize it is the worst thing that ever happened to us.
Whenever I go to the dining hall, I miss how we had lunch and dinner together; how we watched TV; how we sat together on the sofa; how we sat in my room; how I came and hugged you from behind while you were on the computer. I miss you very much. Being the only child has its own perks and perils. It becomes all the more difficult to stay miles away from home when you are the only beloved princess of your parents.
Here, nobody urges me to eat if I don’t feel like eating. Nobody reminds me important things. I have to depend on to-do lists. Nobody tells me jokes like mom did; nobody takes me to the temple like Papa did. Nobody waits for me to return home from college. Nobody cooks my favourite dishes. Nobody debates or discusses current issues with me.
Dismal days of life,  I must say. People party here everyday. I don’t understand how can one party away from one’s parents and other loved ones? How can one enjoy when one’s parents are far away at home, worrying about their child? I live a life here in a way that shall make you proud; that you really expect from me. I won’t ever let you down.
I want to kiss Papa every time he is back from office. I want to wait for you again. I want to sleep in your lap for hours. I want to come home. I want to pull Mumma’s cheeks. I want to eat all that she cooks. I want to have fun with her, again.
I wish all this ends soon. I am fighting it but I want it to end very quickly. I’m strong, no doubt. But I want us to live together again. I have never waited for vacations desperately. Twelve years of my life, I’ve hated vacations. Now, my countdown for vacations has already begun.
You are the best parents in the world. May God bless everyone with parents like you. I love you a lot and I want to return home soon. Dear October, please come quickly. I can’t wait to see both of you. God bless you always.
Your beloved daughter,
Me :*
Always!
Leave a Reply

